Privately Owned Stations.—As already stated, privately owned broadcasting stations are subject to the Radio Act, the Canadian Broadcasting Act and Regulations made thereunder, and the provisions of the Radio Regulations annexed to the International Telecommunication Convention and Regional Agreements in effect in Canada. Since Mar. 31, 1923, private commercial broadcasting station licences have been required by government regulation and both sound and television broadcasting stations are now authorized by this class of licence.

Any application for a licence to establish a new private station or for an increase in power, change of channel, or change of location of any existing private station must be referred by the Minister of Transport to the Board of Broadcast Governors; the Board, after giving public notice thereof in the Canada Gazette, will make such recommendations to the Minister of Transport as it may deem fit. The approval of the Governor in Council must be obtained before any licence for a new private station is issued. Private commercial broadcasting station licences are conditional upon the ownership or control of the stations, and none of the shares of capital stock of licensed private companies nor the control of licensed public companies may be changed without the permission of the Minister of Transport having been first obtained upon the recommendation of the Board of Broadcast Governors. The Radio Stations Broadcasting Regulations require all broadcasting stations to present to the Board at the end of each week a program log for that week indicating the total programming carried by the station. Organizational and financial statements are filed annually, on a confidential basis, with the Department of Transport.

The first sound broadcasting in Canada took place when a privately owned communications company in Montreal was authorized to transmit programs on an experimental basis during the latter part of 1918 and in the winter evenings of 1919 over its Station XWA. Under the first licensing regulations in the year ended Mar. 31, 1923, 34 licences were issued. By Mar. 31, 1960, the number had increased to 258, of which 221 were AM standard band stations, 29 were frequency modulated stations and eight were shortwave stations. Of the 221 standard band stations, 15 were operating with a power of 50,000 watts, 46 with 10,000 watts, 44 with 5,000 watts, one with 2,500 watts, 72 with 1,000 watts, one with 500 watts, 40 with 250 watts, one with 150 watts and four with 100 watts.

A privately owned broadcasting station is required to pay to the Receiver General of Canada an annual licence fee based on the gross revenue for licence fee computation for the fiscal year of the station. Because the fiscal years of the privately owned stations end at different dates, it is difficult to estimate the gross revenue of all stations for any one year. The Report of the Royal Commission on Broadcasting published in 1957 indicates that gross sales for 144 broadcasting stations amounted to approximately \$36,000,000 in 1955, all of which was obtained from commercial advertising.

The first privately owned television broadcasting station in Canada located at Sudbury, Ont., was authorized to commence scheduled broadcasting on Oct. 20, 1953. By May 1, 1960, 45 privately owned television stations were in operation (see Table 12).

Section 2.—The Post Office

The Canada Post Office Department was created at the time of Confederation in 1867 by the Canada Post Office Act to superintend and manage the postal service of Canada under the direction of a Postmaster General. For almost a century before Confederation, postal services in the Canadian provinces had been controlled by the British Postmaster General and administered by his deputies. Under the French régime a courier service had been organized as early as 1703 between Quebec, Trois Rivières and Montreal. In 1734 a post road was constructed over the same route and post houses, complete with post horses and vehicles, were established for the use of travellers. In 1851 the control of their post offices was assumed by the different provinces of British North America and at Confederation these systems merged to form the Canada Post Office.